Skip to Content


No results


No results


No results

Search Results


No results
Search events using: keywords, sponsors, locations or event type
When / Where
All occurrences of this event have passed.
This listing is displayed for historical purposes.

Igor Levit Igor Levit
Igor Levit
Igor Levit is like no other pianist,” proclaims The New Yorker, while The New York Times calls him “one of the most important artists of his generation.”

In this return engagement after his 2016 UMS debut, Igor Levit performs transcriptions of Beethoven’s “Eroica” Symphony and the Adagio from Mahler’s unfinished 10th symphony, as well as Paul Hindemith’s Suite “1922,” written for solo piano with several movements based on popular dances of the day, including the shimmy, Boston, and ragtime.

With an alert and critical mind, he places his art in the context of social events and understands it as inseparably linked to them. The Nizhny Novgorod native moved to Germany at age eight, and within a decade was the youngest participant in the International Arthur Rubinstein Competition, where he won silver, the special prize for chamber music, the audience prize, and the special prize for the best performance of contemporary pieces.

Paul Hindemith Suite 1922
Gustav Mahler Adagio from Symphony No. 10 (arr. for piano by Ronald Stevenson)
Ludwig van Beethoven Symphony No. 3 in E-flat Major, Op. 55 (“Eroica”) (arr. for piano by Franz Liszt)
Igor Levit Igor Levit
Igor Levit


  • Starting at $12 (+ fees) Student tickets go on sale Mon Aug 28.

Back to Main Content