All occurrences of this event have passed.
This listing is displayed for historical purposes.

Symphony Band

Mixed Emotions

Symphony Band Symphony Band
Michael Haithcock, conductor
Elliott Tackitt, graduate conductor
Chad Lilley, soprano saxophone
Andrew Hasher, alto saxophone
Jonathan Hostottle, tenor saxophone
Connor O’Toole, baritone saxophone

Pre-concert conversation with Michael Daugherty, Tim McAllister, and Michael Haithcock at 7:15 PM in the Lower Lobby.

A joyous fanfare by English composer William Alwyn is followed by a requiem for our modern cities by Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Michael Colgrass. The duality of Bach’s classic mixture of contrapuntal writing for the keyboard is re-imagined in a unique setting for band. The destruction of war and the promise of peace is explored by U-M’s award-winning professor of composition, Michael Daugherty. A melancholy setting of Oh Danny Boy finds a home between two vibrant settings by the always crowd-pleasing Percy Grainger.

PROGRAM: William Alwyn- Fanfare for a Joyful Occasion; Michael Colgrass- Urban Requiem for Solo Saxophone Quartet; J. S. Bach- Fantasia and Fugue in C minor (Elgar setting transcribed for band); Michael Daugherty- Of War and Peace; Percy Grainger- Molly on the Shore, Irish Tune, Handel in the Strand
Report Event As Inappropriate Contact Event Organizers

Event Type


  • Free - no tickets required

When and Where

Map Hill Auditorium

November 2018


Explore Similar Events

  •  Loading Similar Events...