Skip to Content


No results


No results


No results

Search Results


No results
Search events using: keywords, sponsors, locations or event type
When / Where
All occurrences of this event have passed.
This listing is displayed for historical purposes.

Hopwood Awards Program pres.

FALL DEADLINE: Hopwood Awards!

Write in the Hopwood Room Write in the Hopwood Room
Write in the Hopwood Room
For full information, visit
Deadline is December 5, 2018 at noon. NO LATE SUBMISSIONS ALLOWED! Please submit well in advance. All submissions take place online. See our website for full instructions.

~~Brief summary of December 5, 2018 deadline contests~~

(Please note: if you are graduating in December, you are also eligible to submit to the "Winter Contests"; your deadline for these are also December 5.)

* Hopwood Underclassmen Contests are open to first- and second-year students (with further eligibility requirements detailed at above link). Genres included in these contests are poetry, nonfiction, and fiction.

* Roy W. Cowden Memorial Fellowship is open to students with demonstrable financial need (recipients must receive University of Michigan financial aid, along with other eligibility requirements listed at the link above). Genres included are drama, screenplay, nonfiction, fiction, and poetry.

* There are a number of Single Poem Contests with the December deadline: The Marjorie Rapaport Award in Poetry, The Jeffrey L. Weisberg Memorial Award, The Bain-Swiggett Poetry Prize, The Michael R. Gutterman Award, and The Academy of American Poets Awards. These contests each recognize a single poem, but have separate entry requirements. Please read each page carefully.

* The Hopwood Award Theodore Roethke Prize recognizes long poems or poetic sequences and is open to all University of Michigan students (with further eligibility requirements at the link above).
Write in the Hopwood Room Write in the Hopwood Room
Write in the Hopwood Room

Explore Similar Events

  •  Loading Similar Events...
Report Event As Inappropriate Contact Event Organizers
Back to Main Content